people

Our people make the difference.

Leadership

Name Research Interests
Hannah Landecker, Acting Director social and historical study of biotechnology and life science from 1900-present; intersections of biology and technology, with a particular focus on cells; in vitro conditions of life in research settings landecker@soc.ucla.edu
Rolfe 1316
Eric Vilain,
Co-Director
medical genetics; gender-based biology; genetic bases of sex determination and sexual orientation; molecular mechanisms responsible for intersexuality in humans; mechanisms of early gonadal development and brain sexual differentiation; psychological well-being of individuals born with disorders of sex development evilain@ucla.edu
Rolfe 1323
Gonda 6335
Christina Palmer, Vice Chair of Academic Personnel implications on genetic testing for deafness; examination of the inter-relationships among research methodologies/technologies, advocacy groups and perspectives on deafness and how they impact the lives of all individuals cpalmer@mednet.ucla.edu
Semel 47-422
Vice Chair of Undergraduate Education

Administrative Support

Name Title
Ana Wevill Chief Administrative Officer ana@socgen.ucla.edu
(310) 267-5471
Rolfe 1325
Rich Moushegian Student Affairs Officer rmousheg@socgen.ucla.edu
(310) 206-1890
Rolfe 1308
Anna Avila Administrative Analyst avilaa@socgen.ucla.edu
(310) 825-2127
Rolfe 1327
Danielle Shenise Administrative Assistant dshenise@socgen.ucla.edu
(310) 267-4990
Rolfe 1327

Faculty

Name Research Interests
Michael Alfaro diversification and macroevolution; evolutionary morphology; theoretical phylogenetics; reef fish molecular systematics michaelalfaro@ucla.edu
Terasaki 2154
Patrick Allard
gene-environment interaction and its relevance to health and society
pallard@socgen.ucla.edu
Soraya de Chadarevian history of biology and medicine, nineteenth and twentieth century with special focus on history of molecular biology and genetics post-World War II; material cultures of experimentation, especially the role of technologies, images and models in the production and circulation of scientific knowledge; technoscience/medicine, industry and the state; science/medicine and the military; historiographical issues chadarevian@history.ucla.edu
(301) 267-4767
Rolfe 1319
Debra Greenfield law and emerging biotechnologies, including intellectual property and property law; privacy and human genetic material and information dgreenf@ucla.edu
Rolfe 1328
Wayne Grody diagnostic molecular pathology; human genetics; DNA-based testing for genetic, infectious and neoplastic diseases; quality assurance and ethical guidelines for DNA-based genetic testing; DNA fingerprinting wgrody@mednet.ucla.edu
Martie G. Haselton how evolution has shaped the social mind; human intimate relationships and sexuality, their endocrine foundations, and their links to outcomes with broad social relevance, including health. haselton@ucla.edu
Barbara Herman genetic privacy; concepts of property rights in the person; moral philosophy; medical law and ethics herman@humnet.ucla.edu
Christopher Kelty anthropological and historical research on science and technology; free and open source software; intellectual property and open access; politics of electronic voting; history of software; ethics and politics of nanotechnology ckelty@socgen.ucla.edu
(310) 267-4775
Rolfe 1315
Russell Korobkin health care law; stem cell law and policy korobkin@law.ucla.edu
Jessica Lynch Alfaro mating strategies; evolution of social behavior and social learning; phylogenetics and phylogeography; Neotropical primates; reproductive endocrinology; masculinity and violence; sex and gender in biological, social and developmental contexts jlynchalfaro@ucla.edu
(310) 206-1889
Rolfe 1321
Aaron Panofsky sociology of science and knowledge; social theory; cultural sociology; social change; the causes and consequences of controversy in behavior genetics; the impact of patient advocacy on medical genetics; how genetics affects different fields of knowledge; the relationship between expertise and democracy in decision making; governance of science apanofsky@socgen.ucla.edu
(310) 206-9362
Rolfe 1317
Janet Sinsheimer human genetics; biomathematics and the application of statistical methodology in human genetic analysis; statistical methods related to maternal-fetal genotype incompatability; estimating ethnic ancestry from DNA data janet@mednet.ucla.edu
Stefan Timmermans ethnography; sociology of health and illness; science and technology of the body, death and dying; interpretive theories related to genetics; qualitative research methods stefan@soc.ucla.edu
Norton Wise
history of science, eighteenth to twentieth centuries; co-evolution of science and society; science and political economy; gardens as culture/economic projectors; the gendering of scientific ideas nortonw@history.ucla.edu

Faculty Emeritus

Name Research Interests
Joan Silk how natural selection shapes evolution of social behavior in primates; behavioral and reproductive strategies in Old World monkey species; questions that link studies of nonhuman primates to humans; phylogenic roots of capacities that relate to nonhuman and human societies Joan.Silk@asu.edu

Lecturers

Name Research Interests
Michelle Rensel behavioral endocrinology; neuroendocrinology; avian physiology; behavioral ecology; avian cognition; ornithology mrensel@ucla.edu

Visiting

Name Research Interests

Postdoctoral Fellows

Apply to Postdoctoral Program

Name Research Interests
Erik Gjesfjeld archaeology; modeling cultural evolution; human behavioral ecology; phylogenetic and network methods; human history and genetics; colonization and settlement of remote and extreme environments; impact of natural disasters on island and coastal populations EGjesfjeld@socgen.ucla.edu
Daniela Parodi post-doctoral fellow in the Allard Laboratory danielaparodi@ucla.edu

Associates

Name Department
Hal Ackerman Theater, Film and Television hack@tft.ucla.edu
Stefan Bargheer Sociology bargheer@soc.ucla.edu
Clark Barrett Anthropology barrett@anthro.ucla.edu
Patrick Boudreault Deaf Studies pboudreault@usfca.edu
Dan Blumstein Ecology and Evolutionary Biology marmots@ucla.edu
Joel Braslow Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences jbraslow@ucla.edu
Elizabeth Bromley Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences ebromley@mednet.ucla.edu
Carole Browner Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences browner@ucla.edu
Allison Carruth English acarruth@humnet.ucla.edu
Steven Clarke Chemistry and Biochemistry clarke@mbi.ucla.edu
Christopher Colwell School of Medicine ccolwell@mednet.ucla.edu
JoAnn Damron-Rodriguez Public Affairs jdamron@ucla.edu
Naghmeh Dorrani School of Medicine, Department of Pediatrics, Division of Genetics NDorrani@mednet.ucla.edu
Dan Fessler Anthropology dfessler@anthro.ucla.edu
Michelle Fox School of Medicine, Pediatrics + Pediatric Genetics mfox@mednet.ucla.edu
Tony Friscia UEI; Integrative Biology and Physiology tonyf@ucla.edu
Patrick Geary History geary@ias.edu
Jim Gimzewski Chemistry and Nanotechnology gim@chem.ucla.edu
Myrna Hant Center for the Study of Women myrnahant@aol.com
Steve Hubbell Ecology and Evolutionary Biology shubbell@eeb.ucla.edu
Rachel Lee Center for the Study of Women rlee@women.ucla.edu
Neil Malamuth Communication Studies; Psychology nmalamut@ucla.edu
Joseph Manson Anthropology jmanson@anthro.ucla.edu
Ariadna Martinez Jules Stein Eye Institute amartinez@jsei.ucla.edu
Edward R.B. McCabe University of Colorado at Denver edward.mccabe@ucdenver.edu
Linda McCabe University of Colorado at Denver linda.mccabe@ucdenver.edu
Kyle McJunkin Undergraduate Education kmcjunkin@college.ucla.edu
Marcia Meldrum History meldrum@history.ucla.edu
Daniel Morrison Pepperdine University Dan.Morrison@pepperdine.edu
Jennifer Mnookin Law mnookin@law.ucla.edu
Peter Nonacs Ecology and Evolutionary Biology pnonacs@biology.lifesci.ucla.edu
John Novembre Ecology and Evolutionary Biology jnovembre@ucla.edu
Kathy O’Byrne UCLA Center for Community Learning kobyrne@college.ucla.edu
Elinor Ochs Anthropology eochs@anthro.ucla.edu
María José Martínez Patiño  Sports Sciences mariajosemartinezpatino@gmail.com
Matteo Pellegrini Molecular, Cell, and Developmental Biology matteop@mcdb.ucla.edu
Susan Perry Anthropology sperry@anthro.ucla.edu
Mark Peterson Public Policy; Political Science markap@ucla.edu
Ted Porter History tporter@history.ucla.edu
Brooke Scelza Anthropology bscelza@anthro.ucla.edu
Barney Schlinger Integrative Biology and Physiology, EEB schlinge@lifesci.ucla.edu
Seana Shiffrin Philosophy; Law shiffrin@law.ucla.edu
Erica Silver Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center esilver@mednet.ucla.edu
Victoria Sork Ecology and Evolutionary Biology vlsork@ucla.edu
Annette Stanton Psychology, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences astanton@ucla.edu
Charles Taylor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology taylor@biology.ucla.edu
Victoria Vesna Design and Media Arts vv@ucla.edu
Robert Wayne Ecology and Evolutionary Biology rwayne@biology.ucla.edu
Alice Wexler Center for the Study of Women arwexler@ucla.edu
Juliet Williams Gender Studies jawilliams@gender.ucla.edu
Lynne Zucker Sociology; Public Policy lynne.g.zucker@gmail.com

Alumni

Name Research Interests
Olivia Banner race in a postracial/postgenomic era; cultural interrogations of genetic discourses of race, sex, sexuality, and disability; virus narrative olivia.banner@rice.edu
Ruha Benjamin science, medicine & biotechnology; history and social studies of racial & gender taxonomies; science policy, public health, and critical social theory ruha@bu.edu
Mara Buchbinder anthropology of biomedicine; clinical communication and the physician-patient relationship; families, health, and illness; language, narrative, and healing; science and technology studies; and more mara_buchbinder@med.unc.edu
Chris Conway role of molecular genetic research in shaping the classification of mental disorders; and more
Gabriela Cybis stochastic models for evolutionary processes, viral evolution, cancer dynamics gcybis@yahoo.com
Carrie Friese emergent relationships produced at the interface of reproductive and genetic science and society c.friese@lse.ac.uk
Bradley Fidler information technology and psychiatric drug markets fidler@cs.ucla.edu
Laura Foster patent law and indigenous communities; tangible versus intangible intellectual property fosterl@indiana.edu
Amisha Gadani artist; science illustration amisha.gadani@gmail.com
Nathan Ha history of biology and medicine, especially genetics in the twentieth century; gender and sexuality studies; scientific constructions of sexual and racial differences; public understanding of science; US cultural history nathanha@Socgen.ucla.edu
Jennifer Hahn-Holbrook cognitive, evolutionary, and health psychology; the role of hormones in shaping maternal psychology and behavior hahnholb@chapman.edu
Lianna Hart qualitative methods; health care and illness; mental health; gender; families; disabilities liannahart@ucla.edu
Karen Kapheim evolutionary genomics and behavioral ecology of social plasticity in bees kapheimk@illinois.edu
Anja Karnein contemporary political theory and philosophy, history of political thought (early modern and 19th/20th century), theories of (intergenerational) justice, freedom, and democrarcy as well as bioethics karnein@em.uni-frankfurt.de
Matthew Keller testing evolutionary hypotheses using human genetic data, and modeling and simulating genetically informative designs that better enable us to understand the causes of human differences matthew.c.keller@colorado.edu
Brent Kious biomedical ethics, ethics of biomedical enhancements to athletic performance
Martine Lappé sociology of health and illness; science and technology studies; autism; gender and embodiment; risk; feminist theory; qualitative methods
James Li independent and interactive effects of genetic and environmental risk factors in the etiology of childhood psychological disorders; differential susceptibility and genetic plasticity; and more jamesjli@ucla.edu
John Marshall genetic engineering, malaria, mathematical biology, population genetics, global health, mosquito control, biosafety john.marshall@imperial.ac.uk
Lisa Onaga history of biology; history of science and technology in East Asia from the nineteenth through the twenty-first century, especially genetic and agricultural experimentation in Japan; and more lonaga@ntu.edu.sg
Shobita Parthasarathy comparative and international politics of genetics and biotechnology; the politics of the patent system; regulation of genetic medicine; the governance of geoengineering; and more shobita@umich.edu
Suzanne Pelka individual and couples’ sex therapysexual addiction treatmentsexual anorexia treatmentmale sexual dysfunctionsfemale sexual dysfunctionserectile dysfunction, and more info@drpelka.com
Tage Rai social-relational motives and cognitive constraints that drive our moral actions across cultures tage.rai@gmail.com
Francisco Sanchez biological basis for sex differences; sexual development; human sexuality; translational science; counseling psychology fsanchez3@wisc.edu
Sharlene Santana evolution of morphology, performance and behavior; diversification; bats, primates and other mammals; tropical ecology; genetic basis of behavioral and morphological traits; biomechanics ssantana@uw.edu
Jennifer Smith evolutionary origins of cooperation; causes and consequences of maternal effects; social decision-making in mammals; reproductive endocrinology; and more jesmith@mills.edu
Lindsay Smith genetic technologies as part of international reconstruction and repair initiatives; medical anthropology; social anthropology; large scale DNA databanking; human rights and DNA lasmith@socgen.ucla.edu
Ingrid Steinberg the ethics of childhood, children’s rights, paternalism, moral development, and personal identity steinberg@humnet.ucla.edu
Elani Streja genetics of inflammatory markers and the development of cerebral palsy in a Denmark cohort; racial paradoxes in survival of chronic kidney disease elani@ucla.edu
Krishna Veeramath human (with particular emphasis on sub-Saharan African populations) and primate population genetics evolutionary medicine,pharmacogenetics and the genetics of childhood neurological disorder veeramah@email.arizona.edu
Rachael Willhite gender differences in the psychosis prodrome rwillhite@ucla.edu